Marmara University

Marmara University (Turkish Marmara Üniversitesi) is a public university in Turkey. Situated in Istanbul, Marmara University has succeeded in becoming the second largest university in the whole country. The University's mission is to impart and promote knowledge and values consistent with universal standards, to meet the technological, social and cultural challenges of a global society, to contribute to the creation of an informed society, which learns about and shares this knowledge and values and to emphasize the European dimension in the delivery of educational opportunities. The present Rector (US:University President) of Marmara University is Prof. Dr. Necla Pur since July 2006.
Established 1883 
Type: Public 
Rector: Prof. Dr. Necla Pur 
Faculty: 13 
Staff: 4132 
Students: 62.000 
Location Istanbul, Turkey 
Campus: City 
Affiliations: EUA 


Marmara University is an institution with roots extending back into the 19th century when the Hamidiye College of Higher Commercial Education was established in the Caðaloðlu district of Istanbul on January 16, 1883. At the time, it was the only leading higher education institution for studies in commerce and economics. From 1923 to 1959, the college was called the Higher Education School of Economics and Commerce and became the Istanbul Academy of Economic and Commercial Sciences in 1959. Marmara University was formally established in 1982, when the Istanbul Academy of Economic and Commercial Sciences was consolidated with several schools of higher education offering undergraduate-level study in medicine, dentistry, law, and fine arts. To these were added faculties of arts and sciences, education, and a school of foreign languages to provide a full complement of university courses.


Marmara University currently has 52,000 students, of whom 44,661 are undergraduate students and 7,406 graduate students. A total of 1,354 foreign students from 73 countries are currently studying at this institution. The proportion of female students constituted 43% of the total student population (in 2001) and is steadily increasing.


  • Recep Tayyip Erdoðan Current Turkish Prime Minister
  • Aydin Dogan influential Turkish businessman and industrialist In 1998
  • Kemal Sunal the much-loved Turkish actor known particularly for his role in film comedies, graduated with a masters' degree from the Television Studies Department of Marmara University's Institute of Social Sciences.
  • Ismail Acar Noted Turkish artist
  • Gerhard Schröder, Former German Chancellor was awarded an honorary doctorate by Marmara University at a special ceremony in Istanbul in May 2005.
  • Yýldo Famous showman, retired football player
  • Nehir Erdoðan Actress
  • Necdet Tekin Academic, Member of the Turkish Parliament 1995-2002 and Minister of Education 2002 completed his Phd at Marmara University.

Organizational Overview

Marmara University comprises faculties, 9 vocational schools of higher education (generally providing 2-year associate bachelor degrees and 4-year Bachelors' in some cases), 11 graduate institutes and 29 research centers. The University currently offers a total of 136 associate bachelor's and bachelor degree programmes. Marmara University also has a Center of Continuing Education offering 20 different certificate programmes in a variety of areas, including foreign languages, computer training and initial teacher training courses. Marmara University is unique among Turkish universities in that it is the only one that currently offers education at both undergraduate and post-graduate levels in four languages of instruction: Turkish, French, English and German.


  • Atatürk Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Divinity
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Technical Education
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Health Education

Graduate Schools

  • Institute for Graduate Studies in Pure and Applied Sciences
  • European Community Institute, renamed as European Union Institute in 2007
  • Institute of Banking and Insurance
  • Institute of Educational Sciences
  • Institute of Gastroenterology Science
  • Institute of Fine Arts
  • Institute of Neurological Sciences
  • Institute of Medical Studies
  • Institute of Social Sciences
  • Institute of Turcology Research
  • Institute of Mid-Eastern Studies

Vocational Schools

Four-year Programs

  • School of Banking and Insurance
  • School of Physical Education and Sports
  • School of Nursing
  • Ýstanbul Zeynep Kamil Vocational School of Health Services
  • School of Foreign Languages

Two-Year Programs

  • Vocational School of Divinity
  • Vocational School of Health Related Professions
  • Vocational School of Social Studies
  • Vocational School of Technical Studies

International Profile

The University has always been proactive in forming and extending its international relations. To realize its international presence, Marmara University sees it as essential to forge links with other European universities and institutions outside the EU that will allow students and researchers to access a wide range of opportunities. Many academic units within the University have been successful in developing student/lecturer exchanges within the framework of the Erasmus/Socrates programmes offered by the European Commission. Within the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, the Department of Political Science and International Relations alone has developed Erasmus Agreements with the Centre for European Studies, Jagiellonian University, Poland; Department of Political Science, Stockholm University, Sweden; Faculty of Preservation of Cultural Heritage, University of Bologna, Italy; Faculty of Political and Social Science, University of Antwerp, Belgium; Institute for Political Science, University of Regensburg, Germany and the Institute for Political Science, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany; College of Social Pedagogy, Alice Salomon Vocational College Hannover, Germany.

  • Erasmus/Socrates Partners of Marmara University