Baskent University Pinterest WhatsApp Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Print Gmail Send Email
Başkent University (Turkish: Başkent Üniversitesi) was founded on January 13, 1994 by Prof. Dr. Mehmet Haberal. The University center is located in Ankara and also has Medical and Research Centers and Dialysis Centers all around Turkey.
Established January 13, 1994 
Type: Private (Foundation university) 
Provost: - 
Rector: Prof. Dr. Mehmet Haberal 
Students: - 
Location: Ankara, Turkey 


Baþkent University, the first private university to teach health sciences in Turkey, was founded in 1993 with the cooperation of the Turkish Organ Transplant and Burns Treatment Foundation and the Haberal Education Foundation.

The university has developed and grown over the past eight years without governmental support. The construction of the buildings began on campus in 1995 and many other facilities have been added since then.

Faculties, departments and schools

These faculties and schools are as follows:

  • Faculty of Fine Arts, Design and Architecture
    • Visual Arts and Design
    • Interior Design and Environmental Architecture
    • Art History
    • Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Communications
    • Radio Television and Cinema
    • Public Relations
    • Communication Design
    • Knowledge Management
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Economic and Administrative Sciences
    • Management, Economics
    • Political Science and International Relations
    • Tourism Management
  • Faculty of Education
    • Computer and Instructional Tecnology Education
    • Foreign Language Education
    • Elemantry Education, Turkish Language Education
    • Secondary Education Science And Mathematics Fields Education
    • Secondary Education Social Fields Teaching Department
  • Faculty of Engineering
    • Biomedical Engineering
    • Computer Engineering
    • Electrical-Electronics Engineering
    • Industrial Engineering
    • Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
    • Nutrition and Dietetics
    • Physical Therapy and Rehabilition
    • Nursing and Health Services
    • Health Care Management
    • Sport Sciences
    • Social Work
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Science and Letters
  • Faculty of Commercial Sciences

Organizations and Institutions associated with the university


  • Center for Language Studies
  • Center for Studies in Atatürk's Principles


  • Institute of Educational Sciences
  • Institute of Health Sciences
  • Institute of Science
  • Institute of Social Sciences
  • Institute of European Union and International Relations
  • Institute of Transplantation and Gene Sciences
  • Institute of Burn, Fire and Natural Disaster

Vocational Schools

  • Vocational School of Social Sciences
  • Vocational School of Technology
  • Vocational School of Health Sciences


  • Ayþeabla Schools
  • Adana Baþkent Schools


  • Baþkent University Ankara Hospital
  • Ayaþ Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Center
  • Yapracýk Geriatric and Psychosocial Rehabilitation Center
  • Baþkent University Adana Medical and Research Center
  • Baþkent University Ýzmir Zübeyde Haným Medical and Research Center
  • Baþkent University Medical and Research Center of Alanya
  • Baþkent University Konya Medical and Research Center
  • Baþkent University Elmalýk (Yalova) Dialysis Center
  • Baþkent University Ýskenderun Dialysis Center
  • Baþkent University Ýstanbul Dialysis Center
  • Baþkent University Experimental Research Centers


  • Patalya Thermal Resort Hotel
  • Patalya Lakeside Resort Hotel