Afyonkarahisar Kocatepe University Pinterest WhatsApp Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Print Gmail Send Email
Afyon Kocatepe University, which was founded with the constitution number 3837 dated July 3, 1992, started its educational activities on November 10, 1992 together with twenty one new universities. However, the history of university goes back to 1974 when the school started education as Afyonkarahisar Finance and Accounting High School, a branch of Eskisehir Economics and Trading Sciences Academy. Afyon Finance and Accounting High School was changed into the Faculty of Afyonkarahisar Economics and Administrative Sciences in 1987. When Afyon Kocatepe University was founded, this faculty became a school of our university.
During its foundation period, Usak Vocational School which was connected with Ege University, and Afyonkarahisar Vocational School and Bolvadin Vocational School which were connected with Anadolu University were all connected with our university. Furthermore, in 1992 Afyon Ataturk Health Services Vocational School was established in the city center of Afyonkarahisar. In addition to these units, Faculty of Science and Literature, Faculty of Technical Training, the Institute of Social Sciences, the Institute of Science were founded in Afyonkarahisar.

Before the commencement of 1993–1994 educational year, with the permission of the Council of Higher Education, vocational schools were established in Dinar, Emirdag, Sandikli, Suhut towns of Afyonkarahisar. In 1994–1995 educational year, vocational schools were founded in Cay and Iscehisar. In 1995–1996 educational year Sultandagi Vocational School was established. In 1996–1997 educational year, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Afyonkarahisar School of Health were founded. In 1998, The Faculty of Medicine, in 1999 State Conservatoire, and in 2004 School of Foreign Languages were founded in Afyonkarahisar.

The law regarding the foundation of new faculties, institutes and vocational schools of Afyon Kocatepe University became valid with the publication of official gazette issue number 24289, January 16, 2001. By this law, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Fine Arts, School of Physical Education and Sport and the Institute of Health Sciences were founded in Afyonkarahisar. In 2004, with the demand of our university and approval of Council of Ministers, School of Foreign Languages was founded. The decree of Council of Ministers was published on official gazette issue number 25448 dated April 30, 2004.

The establishment of Afyon Kocatepe University School of Tourism and Hotel Management was agreed by Council of Ministers decree on November 11, 2005 with respect to the letter from Ministry of National Education numbered 25022 on November 8, 2005 and 30th supplementary item of law no 2809 dated March 28, 1983. After the publication of decree numbered 2005/9635 on official gazette on December 25, 2005 issue number 26017, School of Tourism and Hotel management was established.

4 faculties, 1 school and 6 vocational school in Usak passed to Usak University according to the law number 5467 issued on official gazette dated March 17, 2006.

There are 8 faculties, 3 institutes, 4 schools, 1 State Conservatoire, 12 vocational schools and 12 application and research centers at present. The number of academic staff is 1011, including 35 professors, 66 associate professors, 285 assistant professors, 211 lecturers, 44 instructors, 338 research assistants, 31 specialists and 1 educational planner. The number of administrative staff is 556.


Afyon Kocatepe Üniversity has been continueing its training activities in three campuses such as Ahmet Necdet Sezer campus, Ali cetinkaya Campus, Ahmet Karahisari Campus in Afyonkarahisar Rectorship Units, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Science and Literature, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Economic and Administrative Sciences, Faculty of Technical Training, Faculty of Veterinary, Faculty of Engineering, institution of science, institution of health science, Technological Research developement and training center, Center Library are all in Ahmet Necdet Sezer Campus. Medicine Faculty, Afyonkarahisar Vocational School, Rectorship Ahmet Necdet Sezer Research and Application Hospital are in Ali Cetinkaya Campus and State Conservatoire, Physical Education and Sport High School are in Ahmet Karahisari Campus.

Our mission

Is to train students who are obedient to Ataturk's principles, contemporary, dynamic, open-minded, self-confident and with responsibility; to serve the society besides educational and research developement activities; to serve the science world and institution culture depending on participation, sharing and team work.

Our vision

Is to become one of the best government universities and to pioneer to provide the university and industry-people collaboration in our province and the region, to produce technology and information having universal quality reaching scientific standarts in the world.