Yeditepe University

Yeditepe University is a private university situated in Istanbul, Turkey. Founded in 1996, Yeditepe University now claims to be the largest of the 27 foundation universities in Turkey. The aim of Yeditepe University is " educate the young group as enlightened individuals, fully capable of dealing with the demands of the contemporary modern world, culturally rounded with technological skills and dedicated to the ideals of secularism, progress and creativity inspired by Atatürk's principles. The educational programs are geared towards securing this objective in the light of rapid global developments of the 21. Century".


The University was established in 1996 by the Istanbul Education and Culture Foundation (Turkish: Ýstek Vakfý) which seeks to promote educational opportunities on a non-profit basis.


Yeditepe University is principally located in a purpose-built campus at Kayisdagi on the Asian side of Istanbul. However, the Faculty of Dentistry and the University Hospital are located on another place in the Asian side of the city.

The university campus consists of 236 thousand square meters of closed area and 125 thousand square meters of open area. It has 319 classrooms, 22 lecture halls, 32 computer labs, 74 professional labs belonging to Fine Arts, Architecture, Communication, Engineering and Sciences Faculties and 2 professional photographic studios.

There are 34 academic administration units, 287 Faculty Offices, 28 student club rooms, a 3000 square meters Central Library equipped with computers with internet access and private reading areas, Residence Halls with a capacity for 1400 people, a multipurpose Conference Hall with a 1200 seating capacity, a Cinema Complex with a 100 seating capacity each, a Theatre Hall with a 100 seating capacity, a 524 square meters and 384 square meters professionally equipped two television studios and 200 square meters educational TV studio lab, 150 square meters educational radio facilities, 550 square meters indoor basketball court with seating facilities, and 620 square meters outdoor basketball courts, outdoor volleyball and tennis courts, indoor and outdoor half Olympic sized swimming pools, 300 square meters fully equipped fitness and aerobics center, 783 square meters modern shopping complex, 79000 square meters of open grassy area with benches and picnic facilities, 400 vehicle capacity indoor parking lots.


All academic programs are offered in English except for a program of political science and international relations in French, a program of business administration in German and a program of art and design in Italian.

Currently, Yeditepe University is a signatory to Student Exchange Protocols and Memoranda of Understanding with over 30 universities in the United States and is actively involved with developing the ERASMUS / SOCRATES program with European institutions of higher education. Yeditepe has signed an educational affiliation agreement with International University in Geneva.

Yeditepe University comprises eleven faculties, three graduate institutes and one vocational school of higher education:


  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Economics and Administration Sciences
  • Faculty of Communications
  • Faculty of Engineering and Architecture
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Commercial Sciences

Graduate Institutes

  • Institute of Graduate Studies in Science and Engineering
  • Institute of Health Graduate Studies
  • Institute of Social Sciences Graduate Studies

Vocational Schools of Higher Education

  • School for Advanced Vocational Studies

Students and faculty

According to the University's official web page, the total student population has reached 15,000 in number of whom 20% are students enrolled in graduate programs. The teaching staff comprises about 1,350 lecturers of which over two-thirds are full-time faculty members. The current Rector of Yeditepe University is Prof. Dr. Ahmet Serpil who is assisted in his functions by three Deputy Rectors.