Okan University

Okan University is a private university in Istanbul, Turkey. The university was founded by Okan Holding, a Turkish company, in 1999. The university's first year of offering education was 2003. The first graduations took place in 2007.

Okan University was founded by Okan Culture, Education and Sports Foundation in 1999 and began its academic life in 2003-2004 with three faculties: The Faculty of Arts and Sciences, the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, the Faculty of Engineering. The School of Computers and Tourism, and the Institutes of Social and Applied Sciences were also opened in 2003-2004 academic year.

Okan University expands and continues to open new departments every year. Currently the university has 4 faculties and 20 departments. Whilst the Faculty of Arts and Sciences comprises Translation Studies, Psychology and Mathematics Departments, the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences consists of Business Administration, International Trade, International Logistics and International Relations, Finance and Banking Departments. The Faculty of Engineering is composed of the Industrial Engineering and Computer Engineering Departments. The Faculty of Fine Arts has three departments, namely, the Departments of Interior Architecture, Fashion and Textile Design, Graphic Arts. The School of Computers and Tourism also boasts two departments: Tourism and Hotel Management and Information Systems and Technologies.

Okan University Social Sciences Institute had opened graduate programmes on Management, Sales and Marketing, and Translation Studies starting from 2004-2005 academic year.

Okan University had applied to European Commission Socrates Programme and had been awarded the Erasmus University Charter in December, 2005. Furthermore, in addition to several Bilateral Agreements with European Universities and being conscious of the importance of establishing relations with other universities around the world, Okan University has signed protocols with Murray State University in Kentucky, USA, Siegen University in Germany, Beijing Culture and Languages University in China and Pushkin State Russian Language Institute in Russia.