Karadeniz Technical University

istanbul-city-guide.com Pinterest istanbul-city-guide.com WhatsApp istanbul-city-guide.com Facebook istanbul-city-guide.com Twitter istanbul-city-guide.com LinkedIn istanbul-city-guide.com Print Istanbul-City-Guide.com Gmail Istanbul-City-Guide.com Send Email
Karadeniz Teknik Üniversitesi (KTU) (English: Karadeniz Technical University) is a public research university in Trabzon, Turkey, founded in 1955.
Established May 20, 1955 
Type: Public 
President: Prof.Ýbrahim ÖZEN 
Location: Trabzon, Turkey 
Member of: EUA 
Website: www.ktu.edu.tr 

Foundation and development

Karadeniz Technical University, founded upon the approval of the proposal put forward by Mustafa Reþit Tarakçýoðlu, Trabzon deputy of the time, and his 28 friends on May 20, 1955. It is the first university to be founded except for the ones established in Ýstanbul and Ankara. Eight years after the foundation, Department of Basic Sciences, Civil Engineering, Architecture, Mechanical Engineering and Forest Engineering faculties were established in accordance with the article 336, enacted on September 19, 1963. Education at the university commenced on December 2, 1963 in Trabzon Atatürk Secondary School in Esentepe quarter. In 1966, the university moved to its present location. Continuing its development, the university expanded after the introduction of Earth Sciences and Medicine Faculty on October 4, 1973. After the introduction of Higher Education Act, Article 2547 in 1981, the university continued to develop with new faculties and departments.

The continuing development of Karadeniz Technical University is in parallel with the needs of the surrounding environment. In this respect, the faculties of Dentistry, Pharmacy, Fine Arts, Communication and Of School of Technical Education are some units to offer a good education and excellent research potential.


Main campus (Kanuni)

  • Rectorate
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Forestry
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • School of Foreign Languages
  • Vocational School of Health Services
  • Vocational School of Hopa
  • Institutes
  • Research centers

Fatih Campus

  • Fatih Education Faculty
  • Faculty of Communication
  • School of Music and Drama
  • Trabzon Vocational School
  • Trabzon Vocational School of Theology

Sürmene Campus

  • Sürmene Faculty of Marine Sciences

Muammer Dereli Campus

  • Sürmene Faculty of Marine Sciences- Department of Deck

Of Campus

  • Of Faculty of Technical Education


  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
    • Physics
    • Chemistry
    • Mathematics
    • Biology
    • Statistics and Computer Sciences
    • History
    • Turkish Language and Literature
    • English Language and Literature
  • Faculty of Engineering
    • Civil Engineering
    • Mechanical Engineering
    • Computer Engineering
    • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
    • Geodesy and Photogrammetry Engineering
    • Geological Engineering
    • Geophysical Engineering
    • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
    • Mining Engineering
  • Faculty of Architecture
    • Architecture
    • Interior Design
    • Town and Country Planning
  • Faculty of Forestry
    • Forestry Engineering
    • Forest Industry Engineering
    • Landscape Architecture
  • Faculty of Marine Sciences
    • Fisheries Technology Engineering
    • Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
    • Maritime Transportation and Management Engineering
  • Departman of Economics and Administrative Sciences
    • Economics
    • Business Administration
    • Finance
    • International Relations
    • Labour Economics and Industrial Relations
    • Econometrics
    • Public Administration
  • Faculty of Medicine
    • General Medicine
    • Surgical Medicine
    • Interior Medicine
  • Fatih Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Department of Music and Opera
  • Of Faculty of Technical Education

Research and Application Centers

  • History of Atatürk’s Principles and Reforms
  • Computer Sciences
  • Computer Aided Design-Engineering and Production
  • Geographical Information Systems
  • Environmental Issues
  • Sea Ecology
  • Electronic Communication Systems
  • Landslide
  • Kanuni Sultan Süleyman
  • Black Sea, Caucasus and Central Asian Studies
  • Materials Science and Production Technology
  • Preschool Education
  • Forestry
  • Foreign Languages Teaching


  • Trabzon School of Health Sciences
  • Midwifery
  • Nursing
  • School of Foreign Languages