Gazi University Pinterest WhatsApp Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Print Gmail Send Email
Gazi University (Turkish: Gazi Üniversitesi) is a public university primarily located in Ankara, Turkey. It was established in 1926 by Kemal Atatürk as Gazi Teacher Training Institute. In 1982, it was merged with the Ankara Academy of Economy and Commerce, the Ankara College of Technical Teachers, the Ankara Girls' College of Technical Teachers, and the Ankara State Academy of Engineering and Architecture to become a full university.

Currently, Gazi University comprises 25 faculties, 21 vocational schools of higher education, 18 research centers and 5 graduate institutes. The student enrolment of Gazi University has reached approximately 50,000 in total of whom about 1,500 come from the Turkic states of Central Asia. Five thousand students are enrolled in graduate programmes. The total size of the teaching faculty exceeds 3,000 in number.
Established 1926 
Type: Public 
President: Prof.Kadri Yamaç 
Undergraduates: 47592 
Postgraduates: 10470 
Location: Ankara, Turkey 
Campus: On different and lively parts of the city 
Member of: EUA 


  • Gazi Faculty of Education
  • Kirsehir Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Kastamonou Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Kirsehir Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Industrial Arts Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Corum Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Divinity
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Engineering and Architecture
  • Corum Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Technical Education
  • Gazi Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Health Education
  • Faculty of Commercial and Tourism Education
  • Kastamonou Faculty of Forestry
  • Faculty of Vocational Education

Graduate institutes

  • Institute for Graduate Studies in Pure and Applied Sciences
  • Institute of Social Sciences
  • Institute of Health Sciences
  • Institute of Educational Sciences
  • Institute for Accident Research and Prevention

Vocational colleges of higher education

  • Beypazarý Technical Science Vocational Education
  • Corum Vocational College
  • Hacýbektaþ Veli Vocational College
  • Kýrsehir Vocational College
  • Polatlý Technical Science Vocational Education
  • Vocational College of Finance
  • Vocational School of Health Services
  • Sungurlu Community College
  • Title Deed and Cadastre College
  • Atatürk Vocational College
  • Ankara Vocational College
  • Gazi Vocational College
  • Mucur Vocational College
  • Kecioren Vocational School of Health Services
  • Kaman Vocational College
  • Kýrþehir Çiçekdaðý Vocational College

University governance

The present Rector of Gazi University is Prof. Dr. Kadri Yamaç.


Gazi University is a city-university which has has a multitude of campuses around the lively centers of Ankara, the capital city of Turkey. Its main campus is situated in Beþevler.

The University's campuses are almost directly inside the city life, which makes it easier to find houses to live, centers for shopping etc for students. Each year, it is possible to see many activities at these campuses for students, such as the Spring Festival, free concerts, opening concerts, sports tournaments, theatre performances and many other performances of student clubs as well as scientific and cultural seminars.

Gazi University Central Library

Gazi University Central Library is one of the modern libraries in Ankara. It has a considerably large collection including 150,346 books, 61,938 bound periodicals, and 10,474 master theses. The library subscribes to 702 perioadicals in foreign languages and 583 in Turkish, and provides access to 20,000 on-line journals and 30 on-line databases. Collections are predominantly in Turkish, English and German. Every year, library orientation programs are organized for new Gazi Students.

Notable Alumni

  • Ýlhan Berk: Poet, writer.
  • Özdemir Ýnce: Poet, writer, member of European Poetry Academy.
  • Abbas Güçlü: Pedagogist, journalist with a popular TV program for students.
  • Zeki Sezer: Politician, present chairman of Democratic Left Party.
  • Bülent Bezdüd: Musician, with Grammy Awards.
  • Nurcan Taylan: Sportsman, with an olympic golden medal.
  • Hamza Yerlikaya: Sportsman.
  • Halil Mutlu: Sportsman.
  • Sinan Þamil Sam: Sportsman.
  • Naim Süleymanoðlu: Sportsman.
  • Fakir Baykurt: Novelist.
  • Melih Gökçek: Chairman of Ankara Municipality.
  • Sinan Aygün: Chairman of Ankara Trade Chamber.
  • Biket Ýlhan: Film director.
  • Mehmet Zafer Çaðlayan: Minister for Trade and Industry of T.C.
  • Nihat Özdemir: Deputy chairman of Fenerbahçe Sports Club, President of Board of Directors of Limak Construction Corp.
  • Ýnci Aral: Writer (short-story)