Dokuz Eylul University

Dokuz Eylul University is one of the prominent universities in Turkey. The university is located in İzmir, Turkey. It was founded in 1982 and is organized in 10 schools. DEU is the first university which applied problem-based learning method in Turkey, started in School of Medicine in 1997.

Dokuz Eylul University has attained its goal of continious development in education, research and practice by the "Total Quality Management System". In 2001 Social Sciences Institute and School of Maritime Business and Management, in 2003 Presidency of the University, in 2004 Medical Faculty and Health Sciences Institute have acquired ISO 9001: 2000 Quality Management System Certificate.
Established July 20, 1982 
Type: Public 
Rector: Prof. Dr. Emin Alici 
Faculty: 10 
Staff: -- 
Students: 43500 
Location: Ýzmir, Turkey 


The university was founded on July 20, 1982 and named after September 9, 1922, the end of Greek occupation in Ýzmir after World War I. Seventeen previously founded institutions, including some of the faculties of Ege University and other various higher education institutes were affiliated to the University in the same year. Dokuz Eylul University achieves to sustain its nationwide reputation in Turkey by ten faculties, five schools, five vocational schools, five graduate schools and five institutes.


There are 10 schools of discipline into which the university is divided:

  • Buca Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Business
  • Faculty of Architecture
  • Faculty of Medicine

Campus sites

  • Alsancak (D.E.U. Presidency)
  • Balçova (Faculty of Medicine; School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation; School of Nursing; The Institute of Health Science; Vocational School of Health Services; The Institute of Hemodialysis and Transplantation; The Institute of Oncology)
  • Bornova (Faculty of Engineering; Graduate School of Natural And Applied Sciences)
  • Buca (Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences; Faculty of Law; Vocational School of Judicial Practices; Buca Educational Faculty; Ýzmir Vocational School; Institute of Educational Sciences; School of Foreign Languages)
  • Buca-Týnaztepe (Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Faculty of Business; Institute of Social Sciences; Faculty of Architecture; Faculty of Engineering; School of Maritime Business and Management)
  • Hatay (Faculty of Theology; Vocational School of Religion; Institute of Religious Studies)
  • Narlýdere (Faculty of Fine Arts; School of State Conservatory Institute of Fine Arts)
  • Torbalý (Torbalý Vocational School)
  • Ýnciraltý (Institute of Marine Sciences and Technology)
  • Urla (School of Maritime Business and Management)
  • Seferihisar

Notable alumni

  • Didem and Sinem Balýk, (State conservotary) identical twin opera singers