Cankaya University Pinterest WhatsApp Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Print Gmail Send Email
Çankaya University (Turkish: Çankaya Üniversitesi) was established August 27, 1997 by Sıtkı Alp Education Foundation, and the university commenced its functions in the autumn of the same year.
Established 1997 
Type: Private Foundation 
Rector: Prof. Dr. Ziya B. GUVENC 
Faculty: 4 
Staff: 213 
Students: 3,687 
Location: Ankara, Turkey 
Campus: City 
Affiliations: 18 

In aspect of Çankaya University

Çankaya University is a university owned by a private foundation in Çankaya, Ankara, Turkey. The university was established by Sýtký Alp, as a transition of his secondary education level school Arý College into a higher education institute, and opened by former president of Turkey, Süleyman Demirel in 1997 and has grown rapidly. In an age of competition when civilisation and technology have reached their zenith, borders between nations have diminished and now are almost invisible. Each nation is trying to be a centre of excellence. Education, reliable and efficient education, is undoubtedly the basis for such excellence. With this goal in mind, a community of educators trained at academic institutions of high reputation all over the world have been set up. This goal is to train, the students of Çankaya University in the best way possible through well-developed curricula in various fields.

The university has relatively a small campus, but the new campus is considered to be opened in 2009. The new campus will have the third largest campus area in Ankara after METU and Bilkent University.

Faculties and departments

Art and Sciences

  • English Language and Literature
  • Mathematics and Computer
  • Translation and Interpreting Studies

Economics and Administrative Sciences

  • Economics
  • International Trade
  • Management
  • Political Science and International Relations

Engineering and Architecture

  • Computer Engineering
  • Electronic and Communication Engineering
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Interior Architecture


  • Law

Çankaya Vocational Training School

  • International Trade Management

Graduate Schools

  • Graduate School of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Graduate School of Social Sciences

Preparatory School

  • Preparatory School (Prep of English)


Art and Sciences - Dean: Prof. Dr. Emel DOÐRAMACI

  • Mathematics and Computer Sciences Department - Chairman : Prof. Dr. Ahmet ERÝÞ
  • English Language and Literature Department - Chairman: Aysu Aryel ERDEN
  • Translation and Interpreting Studies(English) - Chairman: Prof. Dr. Gürkan DOÐAN

Engineering and Architecture Faculty - Dean: Prof. Dr. Ziya B. GÜVENÇ

  • Computer Engineering Department - Chairman: Prof. Dr. Mehmet Reþit TOLUN
  • Industrial Engineering Department - Chairman: Fetih YILDIRIM
  • Electronics and Communication Engineering Department - Chairman: Prof. Dr. Yahya Kemal BAYKAL
  • Interior Architecture Department - Chairman: Prof. Dr. H.Cüneyt ELKER

Economics and Administrative Sciences Faculty - Dean: Prof. Dr. Ahmet YALNIZ

  • Economics Department - Chairman: Prof. Dr. F.Dilek ÖZBEK
  • International Trade Department - Chairman: Assist. Prof. Dr. Ömer YURTSEVEN
  • Management Department - Chairman: Prof. Dr. Hasan Isin Dener
  • Political Science and International Relations Department - Chairman: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tanel DEMÝREL

Law Faculty - Dean: Prof. Dr. Turgut ÖNEN

  • Chairman: Prof. Dr. Erzan ERZURUMLUOÐLU

Çankaya Vocational Training School

  • International Trade Management Department


  • Prof. Dr. Ziya B. GÜVENÇ

Chair The Board of Trustees

  • Sýtký Alp

Research centers

  • Center for Research and Application in Law
  • Center for Research and Application in Women's Studies
  • Center for Research and Application in Ataürk's Principles and the Revolutionary History
  • Center for Continuing Education, Consultation and Application