Bosphorus University

Bogaziçi University (Turkish: Bogaziçi Üniversitesi) is one of the most prominent educational institutions in Turkey. The university is located on the European side of the Bosphorus in Istanbul (hence the name, which means 'Bosphorus University'). The institution currently known as Bogaziçi University was established in 1971 on the campus of Robert College, which, in turn, was established in 1863 as the first American school outside of the United States.
Established 1863 as Robert College
1971 as Bogaziçi University 
Type State 
President Ayse Soysal (interim president) 
Staff 940 
Undergraduates 8,582 
Postgraduates 2,305 
Location Bebek, Istanbul, Turkey 
Campus Urban, 96 acres/39 ha 
Athletics 41 varsity teams 
Nickname Bogaziçi 
Public transit access Bogaziçi Üniversitesi (IETT stop) 


A detailed history of Bogaziçi University

List of presidents and rectors

Presidents of Robert College

  • Cyrus Hamlin - 1863-1877
  • George Washburn - 1877-1903
  • Caleb Frank Gates - 1903-1932
  • Paul Monroe - 1932-1935
  • Walter Livingston Wright - 1935-1943
  • Floyd Henson Black - 1944-1955
  • Duncan Smith Ballantine - 1955-1961
  • Patrick Murphy Malin - 1962-1964
  • Dwight James Simpson - 1965-1967
  • John Scott Everton - 1968-1971

Rectors of Bogazici University

  • Abdullah Kuran - 1971-1979
  • Semih Tezcan - 1979-1982
  • Ergün Togrol - 1982-1992
  • Üstün Ergüder - 1992-2000
  • Sabih Tansal - 2000-2004
  • Ayse Soysal - 2004-Present
  • Currently, the maximum time a rector may serve two consecutive terms of four years each.


    Aside from the South Campus (Güney Kampüs) which was inherited from Robert College, the University at the moment has buildings in five other campuses. Of those, the North Campus (Kuzey Kampüs), Hisar Campus and Uçaksavar Campus are located near the Güney Campus. The South Campus is situated on a hill between Bebek and Rumeli Hisarüstü while the North Campus and Hisar Campus are located in Rumeli Hisarüstü itself. The Kandilli Campus is located in the Asian side of the Bosphorus (in Çengelköy) and hosts the Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute. The newest campus is in Kilyos and is called the Saritepe Campus.

    The former Robert College building on South CampusMain Campus
    South Campus: 
    Swimming Pool 
    Hülya Bozkurt Art Studio 
    The Atatürk Institute For Modern Turkish History 
    Psychology and Sociology Building 
    Administration Building (Gates Hall) and Central Heating 
    Mithat Alam Film Center 
    Center for Economic Design - Center for Economics and Econometrics 
    Assembly Hall (Albert Long Hall), Men's Residence Hall I (Hamlin Hall) 
    Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences (Washburn Hall) 
    Students Activities Building (Henrietta Washburn Hall and Dodge Gymnasium) 
    Faculty of Arts and Sciences (Anderson Hall) 
    Computer Center, Faculty of Engineering (Perkin's Hall) 
    School of Foreign Languages 
    Women's Residence Hall III (Theodorus Hall) 
    Preschool Education Center and Guest House 
    Kennedy Lodge 
    Lecture Hall 
    Foreigner Language Testing Office 
    Lecture Hall 
    Executive MBA 
    Natuk Birkan Building 
    Tevfik Fikret (Asiyan Museum) 
    Post Office 
    Hisar Campus: 
    School of Applied Disciplines 
    Management Information Systems 
    Tourism Administration 
    International Trade 
    Institute of Environmental Sciences 
    Swimming Pool 
    Fitness Center 
    Agaç Ev (Restaurant & Cafe) 
    Post Office 

    Notable Alumni

    • Güler Sabanci (1955) - Chairperson of Sabanci Holding and one of the most influential businesswomen in Europe according to Financial Times and in the world according to ACCA Global and Forbes
    • Nuri Bilge Ceylan - Film director winner of the Grand Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival
    • Dervis Zaim - Film director
    • Ezel Akay - commercial director
    • Harun Tekin - rock musician, frontman of Mor ve Ötesi
    • Teoman - singer
    • Nil Karaibrahimgil - singer and composer
    • Murat Akser - cultural historian
    • Pelin Batu - actress, writer, historian
    • Ahmet Yalçinkaya - poet
    • Gülse Birsel - writer, actress, comedian
    • Seray Sever - actress, singer
    • Serdar Erener - advertising executive
    • Cem Boyner - Businessman
    • Perihan Magden - writer
    • Cem Yilmaz- comedian, actor and screenwriter

    Noted Faculty (Present)

    Burak Erman - Professor of Engineering, known with his work on rubber elasticity in collaboration with Nobel laurate Paul J. Flory

    Kemal Kirisci - Professor of International Relations, Director of European Studies Center

    Noted Faculty (Past)

    • Attila Askar - Professor of Mathematics, Rector of Koç University since 2001
    • Halil Berktay - Professor of History, Sabanci University
    • Ali Çarkoglu- Assistant Professor of Political Science, Sabanci University
    • Erdal Inönü - Former Vice-Prime Minister of Turkey, Former Dean, Professor Emeritus of Physics, Sabanci University
    • Ersin Kalaycioglu - Professor of Political Science, Rector of Isik University since 2004
    • Metin Kunt - Professor of History, Sabanci University
    • Serif Mardin - Former Dean, Professor Emeritus of Political Science, Sabanci University
    • Murat R. Sertel - Former Dean, Professor of Economics (deceased)
    • Karl von Terzaghi - Civil engineer, known as the Father of Soil Mechanics